Still knitting

I’m thinking about making a blogging comeback.  My last post here was over three years ago, and I miss writing and interacting in a deeper way than is possible through Ravelry.  My Facebook interactions are of a different nature, not really the place I feel comfortable waxing poetic about animal and plant fibers or cable and lace designs.

In the interim, many things have happened.  I met my husband; reorganized my life to go back to the international health focus I had recently left behind; moved to a French-speaking African country with him and his daughter, found out he was a narcissist (you may not have any idea how scary this can be – just click on any one link from a google search…), and struggled to separate my life from him while finishing an overseas contract.  The day-to-day of getting through life has meant a lot less energy for maintaining my blogging presence or social media contacts.

But I’m about to leave all that behind and relocate back to the U.S.  And I have missed posting here and carrying on discussions with you all.  Many of you may have moved on to Facebook and Ravelry forums, but I for one think the blog has some staying power and offers different opportunities for sharing and exploring.

Plus, I am definitely still knitting.  Of all the coping mechanisms to get me through relocating internationally (and returning), trading the single life for a nightmare marriage (and returning), and a generally high-stress professional situation, it is the meditatively healing qualities of a good knitting habit.  I can’t say I’ve been a great finisher, but I have maintained a steady increase in starting projects, learning or solidifying techniques, and I have also been teaching my neighbor to knit.

I’ve also tried some new yarns, and done a bit of dreaming, sketching, and designing.  One of my goals for the coming year or two is to complete the many half-baked designs in my sketchbook and knitting basket.  I would love to share some finished patterns with the world.

To leave you with some appropriate eye candy, a melange of African sensibilities and knitted design, here are a couple of photos of musician Stromae’s line of knitted clothing in graphic designs inspired by African print cotton cloth.  I guess this isn’t cutting edge news, but I’m into it!  Click to see larger versions.

Mosaert stromae-MOSAERT-clothing-line-capsule-2-polo-green-1

2 thoughts on “Still knitting

Leave a Reply

