Garden Shawl FTW! and, a question on yarn substitution

I just found out that my Garden Shawl won a second prize in the Skein and Garment Competition at SAFF. I’m not sure which category? (Design: Evelyn Clark. Yarn: Avillion Farm.)

And what better prize for knitters than skeins of yarn! I can’t wait to find out what it looks like. [Thanks Elaina!]

Here’s my yarn substitution question, which is kind of specific – if you are familiar with Ella Rae Silkience, can you think of a yarn that would do nicely instead? Unfortunately Silkience has been discontinued…

6 thoughts on “Garden Shawl FTW! and, a question on yarn substitution

  1. Congrats on your prize!

    I have a bunch of Silkience in my stash that I bought on sale from Little Knits, and I was planning to use it as a sub for Classic Elite Classic Silk. They both contain similar amounts of cotton, and they both contain silk and a bit of synthetic fiber, although the Classic Elite contains more silk than the Silkience. When I had compared the two in the past, I was looking at them on Ravelry, where they are both listed as DK, but now I see that Yarndex lists the Silkience as Light Worsted. I’ve never compared them in person side by side, but I thought I would offer it up as a starting point.

  2. Thanks for your kind comments! I loved knitting this shawl. If you like it, take a look at Evelyn Clark’s “Knitting Lace Triangles.” The thing that’s neat is that even though it’s only four complete patterns, she discusses how to transition between different lace stitches to mix and match and make your own creations.

    Thanks Amy for the recommendation – I was looking at Classic Elite Classic Silk online the other day. This could be an option – I think the texture would create a different look, but that might be a really interesting variation! I was also trying to match a couple of specific colors, so we’ll see how that goes.

  3. Hi Heather!

    We wound up splitting the “items knit from commercial yarns” category into three sub-categories. Yours won a ribbon for the shawls sub-category. Congratulations! It was beautiful work.

Leave a Reply

