Starting and finishing

Just a brief update on how the SnB Kinshasa is going – I now have almost a Stitch ‘n Bitch! I say almost because there were several non crafters and many non stitchers, so I called it Craftster Kinshasa instead of SnB. We met once with lots of snacks and wine, and have a 2x/mo schedule set up.

Now to the meat of things.

I love to start projects. I have a million ideas. But finishing is another matter entirely, and this extends to many areas of my life. Not finishing knitting isn’t the end of the world, though, so I’ve kind of gotten over the need to finish everything I start, and the tendency to treat a knitting project like a work project.

There is a lot of satisfaction in finishing, though, so even though I’m still following a kind of diffused, possibly even ADD approach, I’m trying to rein in some of the items I really did want to complete.

Sophia

(L) Zick Zack Tunic in Jaggerspun Zephyr – I’m now working on the cowl neck!
(R) Sophia from French Girl Knits – this is a terrible photo but I’m working on side seams (this pattern was written without them, but I messed up…) and bottom edging; I have blurry, nonuploaded, modeled photos for … next time?

And there is, of course, the secret Bonobo project, which currently looks like this:

bonobo

And last but not least, a project resurrected from the really ancient archives of 2003 (where archives = some box it got smushed into during international transits): The Man Sweater from the original SnB book for my brother. (If you click that link, you’ll see the sweater I knitted in the mean time…)

Manly sweater

This now has almost two sleeves and a front, and is practically ready for finishing. Yes! So what if it takes over 5 years?

2 thoughts on “Starting and finishing

  1. 5 years? You are in good company, my friend!

    I’m so glad you’ve found a somewhat crafty group to spend time with 🙂

  2. Haha, thanks! Yeah, I don’t know what’s up with all these people that just want to rush through and finish a sweater in 2 weeks. I prefer to savor the experience!

Leave a Reply

