New blog layout and photos of things I finished in the summer

My friend Tad has been producing some knitting blog designs recently (for example, Kat Coyle and Connie Chang Chinchio). If I were designing knitwear in the real world instead of only in my head, then I would love to have a blog redesign and my own domain.

I’ve decided to stay here, though, and I intend to do more knit blogging because I miss it. And to feel somewhat reinvigorated about my blog, I changed my template and added a new header. The photo in the header is from a visit to India in December and January of this past year, where I joined my friends at their wedding. His family lives in Ahmedabad, which is next to Gandhinagar, which is where Gandhi lived and invented the charka spinning wheel.

Gandhi mosaiccharkha

I didn’t come home with a charka, although I had a request from at least one friend. But, I did take a photo of this spartan room, which represents how I would like to feel in my creative life: clear, clean, focused.

Wishful thinking perhaps, but it’s nice to have a goal in mind.

In the mean time, even though I haven’t been blogging, I have been knitting, and over the summer finished these two items. Thanks to my friends that took me to the beach and didn’t know they would be asked to model!

Seascape stole

Ravelled

Sunflower tank

Ravelled

1. DROPS Safran 69-18
2. Seascape by Kieran Foley

More details on Ravelry (heatherknits).

ps. Thanks Mel for the plug for upping the ante on my challenge for MSF Pete! Currently MSF gets $600 when Pete knits a sock.

2 thoughts on “New blog layout and photos of things I finished in the summer

  1. Yay! Nice new layout, I like it. Especially the header. And I’m really glad you’re still here. I had the benefit of being able to see and admire your knits in person, but those pictures and words about India, just awesome. Thanks so much for sharing that.

  2. I like your new layout, it feels fresh! And your knits are stellar. I’ve always liked the seascape stole, with it’s undulating pattern design.
    Thanks for sharing your photos of India. I would dream of a spartan room like Ghandi’s too, though I know it will never be except in my head. I seem to collect clutter around my workspace like a magpie collects shiny things.

Leave a Reply

