What’s been going on

Some people have commented about my extended hiatus from knit blog land. To appease you, I am unveiling my most recent FO, Shedir:

I used the recommended #3 needles, dpn the whole way, and one skein of Dalegarn Baby Ull.

There are several other FOs but they haven’t been photographed or posted for a number of reasons, most of which are related to my general lack of knit blogging:

1. I was traveling again. Spent most of April in Kinshasa. This trip was similar to previous trips, nothing to write home about, other than the fact that although I lost my suitcase, I did not lose any knitting! I spent 3 weeks in Kinshasa without my checked luggage, and it was not in Johannesburg either when I passed through there at the end of my trip. The amazing part of this experience is realizing how little I can live on. I had 3 t-shirts, 1 pair of pants, a few undies, 1 book, 2 balls of sock yarn, and I bought a few toiletries and a couple of Congolese outfits, and I was fine.

2. I have a new hobby taking up my time. Even though I think it would be super cool if I could reach a wide audience with my knitting to further my causes, it seems like documentary film will be a more effective means of accomplishing my goals. I took a class, I bought a camera, I got some footage, I completed a 3-min. video and have a couple others in process… and I’ve realized that it’s very time consuming. Oh, and I started a new blog.

3. Internet access at home is deplorable. I used to share with the neighbors, but they had a problem that they never sorted. I shared with the other neighbor but her signal is too weak. And thus far I haven’t been bothered to set up my own connection, but I suspect that day is quickly approaching.

Yeah – I think there are other reasons, but mainly I made a choice to focus on other aspects of my life besides knitting and knit blogging. I’ll never quit completely, because there are great things about it – meeting people, networking, encouraging me to stretch my photography-with-a-crappy-camera skills, sharing what could otherwise turn out to be a solitary hobby, and especially hanging out with like-minded individuals who care about handcrafting and its linkages to other important ideas like self sufficiency and sustainability. Many of these great things are related to my longterm goals, but some of my longterm goals cannot be achieved through knitting. So – I’ll still be here part time, but not full time.

2 thoughts on “What’s been going on

  1. Love the hat. Was doubtful about how it would look when I first saw the pattern, but I really like what you’ve done. And I know what you mean about the hobby diversification thing. Though I’m very boring and have merely diversified into spinning!

Leave a Reply

