In Transition

Each time I spend time in Kinshasa, it is as if I completely exit my normal life until the moment that I am back on US soil. I’ve been trying to keep up with knitting blogland while I’ve been away, but somewhat unsuccessfully.

Sunday I’ll be back, but in the mean time, I’d like to share these photos with you, which represent the juxtaposition of these two lives.

1. Street scene – downtown Kinshasa, one block off the main drag – taken from my hotel room.

2. The shop across the street – here, you can buy phone cards, exchange money, make telephone calls, or make photocopies. Inside, the shop is practically empty.

3. A photo I took during my visit to La Droguerie (don’t tell, I wasn’t supposed to take any…), where the shelves are chock full of ribbons and jars of beads and other ornamentation, not to mention the rainbow of yarns.

(In case you are wondering, I bought 2 books and yarn for 1 sweater, but my camera pooped out, so those photos are coming later…)

4. And because there is no sushi to be found in Kinshasa, I stopped at a pretentious restaurant near Les Halles called WA at happy hour and had spicy salmon maki and a sake cocktail – Yum!

See you soon!

4 thoughts on “In Transition

  1. Hooray! Glad you’re coming back soon. We’ll try to ease you back into US “culture.”

    –mlm

Leave a Reply

