Next post, it will be blocked

I finished the Kiri shawl this week, but it’s still a crumpled heap. A nice soft, warm one, but a heap nonetheless! At this stage, it was on the needles after one bind-off attempt in which I ran out of yarn. I knew I was running out before that and didn’t finish all of the edging rows, but I didn’t want to rip out or make the shawl smaller. There are currently 14 repeats of the design, and on principle, I would have to skip over 13 – hey some people are superstitious, and the shawl isn’t for me! – and reduce to 12… so instead, it’s missing two rows of edging. Don’t tell anyone! Of course, this view is upside down…

I’ve also been working on a small project – here is a taste.

And, some of you may know that since its inception I have been categorically against self-striping sock yarn. I am not sure why – maybe simply because the yarn companies don’t know what combinations I like, and because the stripes tend to obscure the designs I like to knit. Knitting this sock was the first time I really embraced the self-striping, with OnLine yarn, and once again, I have fallen in love with this lighter version and colorway:

I think it’s the spring green in there that draws me in – vibrant and vital, and offsets the other colors that I normally might not like.

On another note, the other day my neighbor asked where I was coming home from, and I said, Spinning Guild! Maybe a bit too enthusiastically for people who don’t get it. She said, Aren’t you a bit young for that? I think she meant inexperienced, since I just started spinning, and I’m also not the youngest person there (we have a high school student who is pretty expert) but isn’t a group that gathers all the local experts a good place to be? It merely requires showing up with my wheel, and now that I’ve paid dues, I can benefit from the traveling library.

Another bonus is meeting a lot of people who work with animals. For example, Elaina at Avillion Farm, who donated the yarn for the Kiri shawl. And Laurie who grows silk worms and also raises colorsplash rare poultry. Not only are the hens different colors, but so are the eggs! Laurie had so many eggs that she was giving them away.

Last meeting of the Spinning Guild brought us an excellent presentation on estimating yarn requirements by Nancy Shroyer, and generally we also have local goat cheese to snack on or purchase.

I don’t care if I’m too young or inexperienced to be in a spinning guild. I’m not going to stop going.

4 thoughts on “Next post, it will be blocked

  1. Yes, don’t take the word of someone who probably has no idea what a spinning guild is. Consider that some people in the guild don’t even spin. It’s a “fiber arts guild.”

    I’m so going to win your Kiri.

  2. I would think that a guild of experienced enthusiasts would be the ideal place for someone who is just getting into spinning…How are you supposed to become experienced yourself unless you practice and talk with other spinners? What a silly neighbor you have.

  3. Those eggs are gorgeous! I think I would blow out the contents for use so that I could keep the shells as decoration! I think they’d look lovely in a simple, clear glass bowl

Leave a Reply

