Blog post 100! Contest! And Socks and Spinning!

In honor of my 100th blog post on Heather Knits, I promised in the last post to send some sock yarn to the 400th commenter but I changed my mind. I want to hear about your favorite socks instead. Interpret that how you will, and I’ll pick a winner, completely subjectively. You have till Thursday at 6pm to leave a comment. I would show you the yarn but I haven’t quite figured that part out yet! You’ll just have to trust me on that one.

Here are some more photos of the Anatolian socks that I found – the first set is actually slippers, and I am going to try to copy them at some point, because the construction seems fairly simple.

slipper1 slipper 2

This pair won’t fit me, but I’ll probably hang them up somewhere. I love the colors and the different motifs. Here’s a bottom-of-the-heel view as well.

medium socks med socks heel

And the large socks that do fit me – flat and an on-the-foot view. These – well, I am not so much about the hot pink, but I do like the classic construction and the fact that the knitter didn’t seem to care about changing colors midway through a motif or about making it symmetrical. Also, did I read somewhere that they didn’t tend to sew in ends on these babies? You can see a loop at the toe where it was tied off.

large socks large sock on foot

Last week I was working on my first attempt at toe-up, two-at-a-time, magic-loop, increase-gusset socks. This little bit alone probably took me most of an hour! They have been zooming along since then, and are looking much more like socks, although someone at SnB last week thought maybe it was going to be a brassiere???

toe-ups

At long last, I have finished Jaywalkers to model! Although I think I did something funky with gauge or needles on these socks too (oops), since one seems a bit tighter than the other, I DON’T CARE because I love them!

jaywalkers

Last week was pretty eventful, because my Louet Victoria also arrived! I meant to wait a while, but I was taken in by the marketing ploy of “OH NOES THE PRICES ARE ALL GOING UP!” Which is a practical concern, I think – all the wheels in the next shipment will cost at least $100 more. So I took the plunge, which I’ve been putting off since October when I decided I wanted to spin for real. I had it shipped to K’s place and she brought it to our spinning guild meeting, so I had an audience of 15 when I opened it. Man, those oohs! and aahs! were really satisfying!

victoria

I’ve spun one spool of grey alpaca top that I think is lacking on the twist… And then I worked with some grey wool roving dyed with teal, which seems to be going well. I’ve been converted to the 5% nation of predrafting your wool.

predrafting spun wool

Consistency will take a lot of work, but I am enjoying the process and I’m not too concerned about imperfections at this stage.

On the spinning tip, one of our guild members forwarded this YouTube link. I tend to ignore any and all YouTube links on blogs, since, well, even at home I am usually using my work laptop and I don’t want to click if I don’t know what it is. But this link is worth the click. It is an 8+ minute black and white film with a music soundtrack, no narrative, about charkha spinning in India. I heard that there is someone in our area who teaches this technique, so maybe one day I’ll get to try it.

It appears that WordPress won’t let me embed the film, so click here to watch.

Oh – I just remembered – one more thing on the sock front! If you sign up for the Knitting Daily newsletter, you can download for free Priscilla Gibson-Roberts’ gorgeous Caspian Sea Socks!

11 thoughts on “Blog post 100! Contest! And Socks and Spinning!

  1. Hooray for wheel! And favorite socks, you ask? My favorites are the ones I make for others. This Christmas, I had one of my best sock-gifting experiences. My father-in-law is one of those guys who is difficult to buy gifts for — he is a very nice and gracious man who gives wonderful gifts to others, but he just doesn’t want or need a whole lot of things for himself, and I wanted to knit him something he would actually like and use. He liked the squooshy wool I picked, the rustic, simple pattern, the fit, the fact that they’d be perfect for wearing on colder evenings in their wood-floored house…but more than that, it seemed that he appreciated the socks not just for what they were, but for the thought and effort I’d put into them. What more can a giver of a hand-knitted gift ask for?

  2. My favorite socks that I have knitted to date would be the Simply Lovely Lace Socks designed by Karen Baumer and published in the Spring 2006 Interweave Knits magazine. They are probably my favorite because I discovered the Gems Opal sock yarn by Louet Sales.

    Great wheel!

  3. Yay for your spinning wheel. Even though finances are low, I think you made the right choice. I guess I’m always pro-craft shopping. Though I tend to frown when R comes home with more DVDs or records.

    Those anatolian slippers look neat. I can’t wait to see your version.

  4. No way – Are you Heather from Twisted Threads – that would be a really weird coincidence if not? I think I found one of your friends’ site this week too, by clicking on random links. Anyway, congrats on your wheel, I hope you are having lots of fun with it! Great Blog 🙂

Leave a Reply

