So close, but so far away

After I found my rust-proof T-pins, I lost my little notions kit. It was of course in plain sight, but not in the right spot. So, although my Jaywalker socks are supposed to be finished, they are still on the needles. You won’t see them again till they have feet in them and some more lively background of some sort, I assure you.

Also, I don’t know why it is so difficult to get a decent photo of a red object – any advice? But below is the embarrassing FO photo for my Red Scarf. I mailed a batch of eight out today, two of which were mine. One doesn’t really count as an FO though, since it’s been finished for a year. I’ve never worn it, so I sent it along.

In the smaller photo, you can’t see the nice moss stitch and ribbed squares at all – here you have a slight chance of picking out the pattern!

I finally blocked my Swallowtail Shawl, but I refuse to post a bad photo (it is also red…), so I’ll wait till I have daylight and a partner in crime to model or photo me modeling it. Again, I am marveling at the wonders of blocking. A pathetic pile of scrunchy lace has become something of which I am pretty proud!

3 thoughts on “So close, but so far away

  1. It’s probably the contrast between the white and red that’s messing up the photo. Try taking another photo with a different background.

  2. That scarf looks great! The pattern must be neat because it’s reversible.I also love using the seed stitch (or garter st) for scarf sides to keep the knitting from rolling under.

  3. I have no idea what your camera is like, but you might try lighting the scarf from the side a bit to get some nice shadows on the pattern and then turn off the flash. flash makes everything look flat, but then digital cameras can be very random anyway.

Leave a Reply

