Catching up

So, almost two weeks have passed and I have not even wished you all happy holidays! Alas, they are almost over, and we are already in 2007. Here is a photo I meant to post before Christmas, from Demre on the southern coast of Turkey, where Father Nicholas actually lived back in the day. Of course, the Coca Cola Santa has taken over even there.

If you look closely, you can see the bishop version of the statues at the top, which just might resemble old Saint Nick a bit more realistically….

As for Christmas shopping, well – they recently (finally!) opened up a Trader Joe’s in our area, even though there’s been one in my hometown for years, and I picked up a few of my favorite goodies to give away,

along with this.

This photo was supposed to be followed up by a shot of the pair on feet, but, well, that got overlooked along with blogging and checking email in the last week!

The yarn, OnLine Supersocke, came from the new shop in town, the Hillsborough Yarn Shop. I loved working with it because it was smooth and springy, and thick enough to work up quickly on #3US needles.

And I also gave away my first handspun project.

You may remember the raw materials…

[Right: obligatory bad shot of the top of my head]

This hat is the perfect example of a) flawless planning, or b) dumb luck. See that tail at the top? That is the 3″ that remained of my skein when I was done knitting the hat. Fortunately for me, my aunt is not into tassels…

More tomorrow! I hope you all have had a restful holiday, and Happy New Year!

2 thoughts on “Catching up

  1. I love the hat! I think one of the reasons my hat kept coming out too small is that I was a bit worried about running out of yarn. I didn’t run out… at least, not until I made the ear flaps with the remainder.

Leave a Reply

