Purl how many together?

When did it become a trend to create and publish lace designs that require purling eleventy billion together on the back side?

OK perhaps this is a slight exaggeration.

But consider these two examples. A few months ago, I started the TRELLIS SCARF which has a k7tog in the chart, and stopped after only one repeat. It’s not that I can’t do it, but that it is tedious and doesn’t bring me pleasure to work on it when I am looking for relaxation. Also, I have been trying to knit it with Addi’s.

I love my Addi’s, but boy are they dull.

And now,

back to my beloved Swallowtail Shawl, which has had a series of mishaps – first, I keep knitting about 10 rows beyond where I should be switching charts. Really, I’ve already knit about two shawls’ worth.

Then, TSA took my needles away (well I was in Paris, so it was more like Tay Ess Ah said Tu ne peux pas).

And when I found the other pair at home in the same size (yes I love Bryspun that much that I have two of several sizes), I still have spent as much time tinking as knitting. I think it’s finally back on track as of this evening… One saving grace is that the tapered points of the Bryspuns can both fit nicely in the nupp.

[What is a nupp, you ask? According to the chart, it’s that k1,yo,k1,yo,k1 into the same stitch business that requires the p5tog!]

So I would like to leave you with this public service announcement: Get ye some pointy-ass needles if planning to k7tog or p5tog. For real, people.

6 thoughts on “Purl how many together?

  1. I’m knitting two pairs of socks right now, one on a pair of Addis, one on a pair of the new Knitpicks needles. Being almost finished with both pairs, I’ve concluded that I actually prefer the Knitpicks needles because of the pointy tips. Those tips would be great for lace too, although some people don’t like such a slippery needle for lace…

  2. I know some knitters have found ways around the p5tog. Can I remember what they are? Nope. 😉

    Also: Did I write again re: the collar mystery? From what I can tell on the IK picture, the collar *should* be like my Rowan sweater, but your sweater as knitted has a sloped front as for a v-neck, which it maybe should not. The way the notched collar worked was by casting off at the front edges, then later picking up stitches above them (not on the CO edge, but at the vertical edges) and knitting up a collar. Then they fall open to the sides.

    So anyway, I really am at a loss about the jacket, sadly!

  3. I seem to recall the Yarn Harlot mentioning that she carries a crochet hook for just this problem. I’m not sure how she does it, but it would be worth figuring out rather than K7tog!!

  4. Andrea – yes it is.

    Tine – I would love to try me some of those KnitPicks needles, but I haven’t gotten around to ordering any. Someone recently went to a class at Stitches East in which the teacher categorically rejected plastic needles, but I tell you what, I keep coming back to these. The only problem is, although I think they make them in dpns, they don’t come in circulars. All I have is straight.

    Mary – I agree, but I guess it would change the design to take it out…

    Daphne – I figured this out from your sweater, and I was trying to make a diagram, but it was too tedious – maybe on the weekend! I am beyond the point at which I can make the flaps fall to the side, since the sloping is already done.

    But I think the key will be to knit on the collar to fill in that gap, picking up stitches as I go along on the sweater side, and increasing on the other edge to get the missing triangle.

    Bonnie – I think that is a great idea. I tend to be resistant to crochet, though. It would be easy enough to do – just insert the crochet hook where the nupp should go, and take advantage of the hook to pull the yarn through.

Leave a Reply

