Sock history

I realize that I am quite late on this post, which was from the first week of Socktober – bu my excuse is that I was in central Africa…

When did you start making socks? Did you teach yourself or were you taught by a friend or relative? or in a class?

I started making socks in 2003 when I was working for a yarn shop and discovered Melanie Falick’s Weekend Knitting. I have never taken a knitting class – I learned the basics from my mom back in the day.

What was your first pair? How have they “held up” over time?

My first pair was made from teal Koigu and was from a pattern in Weekend Knitting whose name I can’t remember right now. They were for my mom, I’ll have to ask her how they’ve held up.

What would you have done differently?

I would have knitted them on a size larger needle so they weren’t quite so snug, and I would NOT have bought so much yarn! I ended up with four skeins and I only needed two!

What yarns have you particularly enjoyed?

I love Koigu, Mountain Colors Bearfoot, and Lorna’s Laces Shepherd Sock, and the Regia Bamboo – and Fleece Artist, Trekking, man, the list goes on!

Do you like to crochet your socks? or knit them on DPNs, 2 circulars, or using the Magic Loop method?

I knit them on either DPNs or Magic Loop – but one sock at a time, unlike my mom, who does two at a time with Magic Loop. For a while I was die hard about the circulars, but recently I have reverted to DPNs as well.

Which kind of heel do you prefer? (flap? or short-row?)

Definitely flap – it provides more room for my ankle when I put the socks on. Though it’s the kind I have been using for years, so maybe I just need more short row heel practice…

How many pairs have you made?

I have made… maybe 11 pairs? And 3 more are in progress.



One thought on “Sock history

Leave a Reply

