Anatolia Part I

Though I only made it as far east as Cappadocia in Central Anatolia, I did track down some Anatolian socks.

I wish I had taken a photo of the piles of acrylic but still handknitted socks that are produced for tourists – and perhaps also for Turkish consumers, though I can’t say, since I never witnessed anyone buying them. They used similar patterns, but the wool variety was far far superior to the acrylic, in material and workmanship.

Here is a pair that I found in an antique shop in Goreme.

This is the front, the back, and the toe. You can see the fading in the coloring – though it began as quite a vibrant work.

They thought I was a bit loony when I asked if I could take a photo. I don’t know what price they were asking but they had six pairs nailed to the wall below the ceiling in various states of decay. Next post: photos of the pairs I found in the Grand Bazaar!

3 thoughts on “Anatolia Part I

  1. That’s what I said! I should have taken a photo of the others, but I have two at home plus a pair of slippers, which I will post in the next day or two.

Leave a Reply

