A little hat and a little fairisle

In the past week and a half, I have become homeless. I am housesitting while my two homeless cats still live at my old apartment, thanks to the kindness of my roommate.

Meanwhile, I spent (almost) all of my free time in the past ten days packing my life into a storage unit. The effort has been largely successful – not only am I living out of suitcases, but I still have space in the unit for leftovers.

And, during my breaks from the 90+ degree heat (aside: did anyone else hear on NPR that some physiologist spent time in a 220-degree Fahrenheit chamber and there were no negative effects?), I wound my lovely Koigu Kersti yarn and came up with this:

beanie

Since the weekend and beginning Little Majolica, and losing the pattern to my teal cardigan, which is still missing, I can’t stop working on this pattern – it’s addictive! And, it makes me very antisocial – I went to two knitting groups this week, and either couldn’t talk or couldn’t knit!

little majolica back

I forgot to take a photo of the back, which looks eerily like tarantulas. You can see the lines between the green leaves and the outer line of the medallion where I secured my floats, and on the back they look like spider legs. I’ll post tomorrow … I think the little indentations will go away when I block the finished piece.

3 thoughts on “A little hat and a little fairisle

  1. Both pieces are great–I am totally impressed by Little Majolica. The Julia yarn is really nice, and comes in great colors, but I think I have a slight alpaca allergy and yours just looks so good!

  2. 220 degrees Farenheit? And no ill effects? Ha. I fear for the safety of people around me once it starts hitting triple digits. If it wasn’t, you know, too hot to actually get up to whack them.

    Wow, Little Majolica is coming along nicely! Post a pic of the back! I love seeing the backs of knits.

  3. Thanks to both of you!

    Carrie, I have taken photos of the back, will be posting them soon.

    I know, I don’t know what that guy was thinking. Recently I read, though, that saunas in Turkish baths go up to 140 degrees. That would be plenty hot for me, thank you.

Leave a Reply

