Lolita and Little Majolica

Rather than finish things in the work basket, I started something new…

[OK, I misplaced the directions for the Debbie Bliss cardigan, and I packed the directions for the garter stitch baby sweater, and I’m mid-Regia-bamboo-sock (2nd sock), but I’ve got a knit-along to do! I guess some time in the next month or two there will be a group of FO postings all at once?]

This project is for my August Knit The Classics book. I haven’t gotten my hands on a copy of Lolita yet – all the library had was on tape, which I’ve never really gotten into, but I’m willing to try – but I found this design in the new Interweave Knits: Little Majolica by Kristen Nicholas. I read Reading Lolita in Tehran recently, so I know a bit more about the book than what is in the Sting song

I decided that I wanted to knit something for Lolita the child, the person that was lost during the experience of Dolores Haze with Humbert Humbert, not the objectification that she has become during the years since the book was written.

Here is progress from last night, knitted during two hours’ worth of Back Porch Music.

little majolica

My only modification thusfar is that I am using Paton’s Classic Merino from my stash, though I would love to try Julia one day.

4 thoughts on “Lolita and Little Majolica

  1. I love the shrug. I’m not a fan, in general, of shrugs. It looks great on you.

    The Nicholas piece is precious. She has a great sense of color. This pattern reminds me of Victorian or William Morris wallpaper. Your color selection is a beautiful match.

Leave a Reply

