Summer Olympics

I have begun an emergency project, and the urgency of finishing this item compares, in my knitting life, only to those two weeks during which I was furiously working on my Knitting Olympics project. So, it seems that I am holding my own Summer Knitting Olympics.

Here is the scenario: I am in a wedding this coming weekend. In 5 days! I am the maid of honor. We are wearing beachy dresses in rich colors of aqua and purple Indonesian batik.

Here is the problem: The dresses are of thin fabric, have spaghetti straps and are cut on the bias, which make me look not quite as sleek as I would like. I am getting my dress altered, but I fear that my bare shoulders make me look disproportionate in an odd way, reminiscent of either a sack of potatoes or perhaps a pear.

The alteration lady offered to make a teal gauzy wrap from some coordinating fabric, but I thought maybe I’d just create something myself.

Here is my proposed solution: A Good Bias from Interweave.

bias shrug

This photo doesn’t show the patterning, which is a fairly simple but interesting lace.

The shrug is knitted from the cuff to the center of the back, the sides effectively mirror images, and grafted together in the middle. Increases from the sleeve to back are basically strategically placed yarnovers with no complementary decreases.

I’ve completed one sleeve, and the second has been tricky because the lace is reversed.

The pattern calls for Mission Falls 1824 Cotton, but I’m using Classic Elite Provence. The sheen is lovely, and it seems to have adequate stretch. I think I can get it done, within a week even!

Man, I should be so focused with all those projects in the tote…

2 thoughts on “Summer Olympics

  1. I wanted to let you know that I just e-mailed you a copy of the ring code from the RingSurf admin. site. You’re listed as a member of the Fiber Arts Bloggers webring, but your blog is in the queue at the moment as you haven’t the proper ring code up on your blog. Rather, RingSurf doesn’t recognize your code because the Site ID you have in your code is a little off–your Site ID is actually 1318, and in your code that’s the number you need to have in the code in each spot where the Site ID belongs. I would appreciate it if you could either change to the right number in the code that you have up, or put up the new code. If you want to e-mail me when you have your ring code squared away and whatnot, I’ll check it out and get you back into the ring as quickly as I can. Let me know if you need any help! 🙂

Leave a Reply

