I. No more bobbles ever again! And, II. On the Merits of Weaving in Ends

I.
I have officially knitted 190 bobbles!

Here is my unblocked progress as of yesterday – since then, I’ve almost finished the left front of the Bobble Cardigan, and I’ve completely completed the bobbles. {Also: please ignore the unseemly yellow cast, I haven’t checked Learn How to Use Camera or Upload Photo Editing Software off the list yet – the green is much prettier, really!}

Detail of bobbles:

Detail of honeycomb stitch on sleeve:

It was starting to get to me, I tell ya. I even started making up words, like oubobblier, which translates as “!?*% I forgot to add a bobble!”

II.
Today I brought my plum-colored version of the Viennese Shrug to my knitting group. I arrived early and industriously sewed in all the ends. This shrug has been neglected for six months or more, and I was envisioning donning and modeling the finally finished product.

.

But there was that niggling feeling that something wasn’t quite right – a flash of memory haunting me, of the time before when I tried it on and it was tight, not long enough perhaps…

And then, it dawned on me: THE PATTERN WASN’T CENTERED!! I MISSED A REPEAT ON THE RIGHT ARM BEFORE THE DECREASES! AAGGHGHHHH!

So. Add to the To Undo list: one side of Viennese Shrug.

*pop* (my bubble bursting)

6 thoughts on “I. No more bobbles ever again! And, II. On the Merits of Weaving in Ends

  1. I can’t wait to see the finished cardigan! It’s lovely. However, after doing four bobbles on that one afghan square, I have no idea how you survived doing 190!

  2. Thanks Andrea! I can’t wait to see the finished product either. Not sure if I’ll be at SnB next Tuesday, but maybe we can schedule a crochet tutoring session. I have yet to knit the collar, but once that’s done, I’m all about the crochet.

    As you know, it’s not about the bobbles, it’s about the finished product…

  3. BonneMarie and Vanessa, thanks for the kind words! I don’t expect to receive any hazard pay, but I’m not afraid of bobble territory anymore, and hopefully there will be no longterm psychological ramifications of having taken on this project.

    The collar is done, now only seaming and crochet edging remain…

Leave a Reply

